RSC - Advancing the Chemical Sciences

Science Activities


Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prizes

The Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prizes are awarded for the most meritorious and promising original investigations in chemistry and published results of those investigations.

2013 Winners

Dr Andrew Baldwin

Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize 2013 Winner

Dr Andrew Baldwin, University of Oxford

Dr John Bower

Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize 2013 Winner

Dr John Bower, University of Bristol

Dr Aron Walsh

Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize 2013 Winner

Dr Aron Walsh, University of Bath

Rules & Criteria

  • Run annually 
  • Up to three prizes are available 
  • Candidates are NOT permitted to nominate themselves
  • Candidates should be 34 years of age or below (7 years post PhD) on 15 January 2014.  The age specified is intended to guide nominators and selection panelists; appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths.
  • Candidates should be working in the UK
  • One page CV for the candidate which should include their date of birth, website URL, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents
  • A one page supporting statement addressing the selection criteria, which can be viewed through the link on this page
  • Name and contact details of two referees required should be provided by the nominator. After RSC office has acknowledged receipt of the nomination, the nominator is responsible for informing the two referees that they must provide reports by 31 January. RSC will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only. Referees may include the candidate's post-doc or PhD supervisor 
  • Winners receive 5000, a medal and a certificate 
  • Nominations open on 1 September 2013 
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2014
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Awards Working Group                      

About the Award

The Edward Harrison Memorial Prize and the Meldola Medal and Prize combined to form the Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize in 2008.

The Edward Harrison Memorial Prize commemorated the contributions of Lt-Col Edward Harrison to chemistry. Having qualified as a pharmaceutical chemist, he attempted to enlist in the army during World War 1, but was rejected. However, when gas weapons were first used, chemists, including Harrison, were enlisted in attempt to devise a form of defence against these weapons. 

Harrison produced the first serviceable British gas mask and continuously worked on this during the war until he died of pneumonia, aged 47. His contributions have hugely impacted the lives of many in the armed forces.

The Meldola Prize recognises the significant contributions to science of Raphael Meldola. After working in a private laboratory, Meldola lectured at the Royal College of Science and assisted in a spectroscopy laboratory. in 1875, he led the British Eclipse Expedition to the Nicobar Islands. Meldola was a member of many scientific committees and was awarded the Davy Medal in 1913.

Previous Winners

Previous winners

A list of previous recipients of the Edward Harrison Memorial Prize and Meldola Medal & Prize, which combined to form the Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize in 2008.

Nomination Information

Make a Nomination

The nominations for 2014 will close on 15 January 2014

Guidelines for Nominators of Prizes

Includes nomination requirements, selection procedure and timeframe information on making a nomination for an RSC Prize