Interdisciplinary Prizes

The Interdisciplinary Prizes are awarded for work at the interface between chemistry and other disciplines.

2016 Winners

Professor Jörg Feldmann

Interdisciplinary Prize 2016 Winner

Professor Jörg Feldmann, University of Aberdeen

Professor Peter Hore

Interdisciplinary Prize 2016 Winner

Professor Peter Hore, University of Oxford

Professor Dek Woolfson

Interdisciplinary Prize 2016 Winner

Professor Dek Woolfson, University of Bristol

General information

  • Run annually
  • Up to three prizes are available
  • Prize winner receives £5000, a medal and a certificate, to be presented at our Prize ceremony in November 
  • The winners will complete UK lecture tours
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Awards Working Group 

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this prize
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The prize is open to nominees living in the UK and Republic of Ireland only
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this prize 
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this prize       

Selection Criteria for RSC Prizes

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Prizes as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator      

Awards Working Group

  • Nicholas Westwood, University of St Andrews (Chair)
  • Melissa Hanna-Brown, Pfizer Global R+D
  • Brendan Keely, University of York 
  • David Cole-Hamilton, University of St Andrews
  • Eleanor Campbell, University of Edinburgh
  • Mark Weller, University of Bath
  • Ray Jones, University of Loughborough
  • Tom Brown, University of Oxford
  • Gareth Price, University of Bath
  • Bryan Hanley, KTN  

Previous Winners

Interdisciplinary Prizes Previous Winners

1986 - present

History of the Prize

The Interdisciplinary Prizes were established in 1986.

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066
Fax: +44 (0)1223 432359