Ludwig Mond Award

The Ludwig Mond Award is for outstanding research in any aspect of inorganic chemistry.

2018 Winner

Professor Warren Piers

2018 Ludwig Mond Award Winner

Professor Warren Piers, University of Calgary

General information

  • Run annually
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Dalton Division Awards Committee          

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally 
  • Candidates should be 55 or below on 31 January. Consideration will also be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths 
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work  

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Dalton Division Awards Committee

  • Emma Raven, University of Leicester (Chair)
  • Ian Fairlamb, University of York
  • Jennifer Garden, University of Edinburgh
  • Eva Hevia, University of Strathclyde
  • Michael Ward, University of Warwick
  • Michael George, University of Nottingham  

Previous Winners

Ludwig Mond Award Previous Winners

1981 - present

History of the Award

Established in 1981 following an endowment from ICI (Imperial Chemical Industry) this award commemorates the chemist and industrialist Dr Ludwig Mond.

Born in 1839 in Cassel, Germany, Mond studied chemistry at the University of Marburg under Hermann Kolbe (known for his synthesis of salicylic acid) and the University of Heidelberg under Robert Bunsen.  In 1862 he moved to England where during his employment with Messrs. Hutchinson & Earle he improved the Leblanc soda process to recover sulphur that was usually lost in waste.  1864 saw Mond return to Germany where he erected an alkali works at Utrecht.  Nine years later however he was back in England to erect an alkali works near Northwich, in partnership with Mr J. T. Brunner.

Mond's scientific work resulted in the improvement of many processes, for example recovering lost ammonia and chlorine, and the development of new processes.  He developed a system for gas production from bituminous slack (coal fragments and dust) for use in lighting, heating, and internal combustion engines.  Working with Carl Lange and Friedrich Quincke he discovered the carbonyl compounds, including nickel carbonyl; a discovery that formed the basis for nickel manufacture.

Mond made significant financial contributions to support the application of scientific research, founding the Royal Institution's Davy-Faraday Laboratory and funding the production of the Royal Society's International Catalogue of Scientific Literature.

Recognition of his knowledge and expertise was recognised in a number of ways : election as an early Fellow of the Insitute (1878), Presidency of the Society of Chemical Industry (1889), election as Fellow of the Royal Society (1891), Presidency of the Chemical Section of the British association, receipt of four honorary degrees.

This award was previously called the Ludwig Mond Lectureship but was re-named in 2008 as the Ludwig Mond Award.

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066