Marlow Award

The Marlow Award is in recognition of the most meritorious contributions to physical chemistry or chemical physics.

2015 Winners

Dr Flemming Hansen

Marlow Award 2015 Winner

Dr D. Flemming Hansen, University College London

Professor Philipp Kukura

Marlow Award 2015 Winner

Professor Philipp Kukura, University of Oxford

General information

  • Run annually 
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee
  • The winner(s) also receives a 3000 R.A. Robinson Lectureship Bursary, for the purpose of giving a lecture in either Singapore, Malaysia, Australia or New Zealand (but this may be part of a wider lecture tour), and should take place within 2 years of receiving the award               

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October 2015
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2016 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for the 2016 Prizes and Awards Main portfolio 
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to candidates based in the UK or Republic of Ireland only
  • Candidates are eligible up until the tenth anniversary of the award of their PhD, and assessment for this award will be based on work published during this ten year period.
  • Candidates without a PhD must be 35 years old or under on 31 January 2016. Appropriate consideration will be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths. 
  • When nominating recent Award and Prize winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work        

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The candidate's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the candidate (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence
  • The names and contact details of two referees. Please inform referees of the nomination as the awards system will contact them as soon as the application is submitted. Referees may not include the candidate's post-doc or PhD supervisor
  • Referees must provide reports by 31 January
  • We will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.      

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Independence 
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator      

Guidelines for Referees

  • The awards system will contact referees to inform them that they must provide reports by 31 January.
  • We will contact nominators and referees of candidates with outstanding references after one week after close of nominations on 15 January once only.
  • Referees must state their relationship (if any) with the candidate and note any conflicts of interest. 

Previous Winners

Marlow Award Previous Winners

1957 - present

Previous recipients of the R.A. Robinson Lectureship


History of the Marlow Award

First presented in 1957, this award commemorates the chemist and patent lawyer George Stanley Withers Marlow.

Born in 1889 Marlow's education began at New College School, Oxford, and Rutlish Science School, Merton.  In 1906 he embarked upon his BSc degree in Chemistry at King's College London, graduating with honours in 1909.  The following year he became an associate of the Institute of Chemistry, with a focus on food and drugs.  Meanwhile he worked as assistant to the public analyst Mr Edward Hinks, joining the staff of the Government Chemist in 1911.  From 1915 to 1919 Marlow was in charge of the army service corps reserve depot in Dartford. 

In 1919, Marlow became assistant secretary of the Royal Institute of Chemistry, a post he held for six years.  During this time he became a member of Gray's Inn, was called to the Bar in 1923 and became pupil to Mr W Trevor Watson, K.C.  However he did not start practising until four years later and in 1925 became the assistant of the General Manager of the Association of British Chemical Manufacturers, Mr Woolcock.  Later in life Marlow developed a substantial technical legal practice and acted in cases of chemical patents, for example in the case Boots Cash Chemists ltd vs. Sharp and Dohme.

1913 saw Marlow's election as a Fellow of the Institute of Chemistry.  He was secretary of the Faraday Society in 1926 until his death in 1948.

The award was originally called the Marlow Medal and Prize but was re-named in 2008 as the Marlow Award.

About the R.A. Robinson Lectureship

The R.A. Robinson lectureship was bequeathed by Professor Robin Stokes (Emeritus Professor of the University of New England) to commemorate Robert Anthony Robinson (1903-1979). R.A. Robinson was a leader in the field of physical chemistry of solutions. Born in the UK, he also spent time during his career in New Zealand, Australia, Singapore, Canada, and the USA. The lectureship was awarded 10 times between 1981 and 1995, and was reinstated in 2015 to be associated with the Marlow Award in support of young physical chemists.

Faraday Division Awards Committee

  • Eleanor Campbell (Chair), University of Edinburgh 
  • Andrew Orr-Ewing, University of Bristol
  • Ali Zarbakhsh, Queen Mary, University of London
  • Bernard Binks, University of Hull 
  • Cinzia Casiraghi, University of Manchester
  • Philipp Kukura, University of Oxford
  • Flemming Hansen, University College London

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Milton Road, Science Park, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432384
Fax: +44 (0)1223 423623