Nyholm Prize for Education

The Nyholm Prize for Education recognises a major national or international research or innovation contribution to the field of chemical science education.

2013 Winner

Dr Peter Wothers

Nyholm Prize for Education 2013 Winner

Dr Peter Wothers, University of Cambridge

General information

  • Run biennially
  • The winner receives 5000, a medal and a certificate, to be presented at an Awards ceremony in November
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Awards Sub-Committee       

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 September 2014
  • Nominations close on 15 January 2015 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for the 2015 Prizes and Awards Main portfolio 
  • Candidates may NOT nominate themselves
  • The prize is open to candidates based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award
  • When nominating recent Award and Prize winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work       

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system at the bottom of the page to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The candidate's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the candidate (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, breadth of teaching experience and relevant publications (if applicable)
  • A supporting statement (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award

Selection Criteria for RSC Prizes

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Prizes as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator     

Previous Winners

Nyholm Prize for Education Previous Winners

1973 - present

History of the Prize

Sir Ronald Sydney Nyholm
This prize was established to commemorate the life and work of Sir Ronald Nyholm, president of the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1968 to 1970.

Sir Nyholm, 1917-1971, was born in New South Wales, Australia and his work centred on coordination (metal complex) chemistry, particular on arsines as ligands.  Alongside his research activities in this area, he was also an ardent campaigner for the improvement of science education.  He undertook roles as a chemistry teacher and lecturer in various institutions in both the UK and Australia.  Whilst involve with the Royal Society of Chemistry, he played a large and leading role in the launch of RSC journal Education in Chemistry.

The Prize was formerly known as the Sir Ronald Nyholm Lectureship and was awarded by the Education and Dalton Division in alternate years.  The Nyholm Prize for Education continues to recognise achievements by those working in education in the chemical sciences, whilst the Nyholm Prize for Inorganic Chemistry rewards those in the field of inorganic chemistry.

Make a Nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations 15 January 2015. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time

External links will open in a new browser window

Awards Working Group

  • Nicholas Westwood, University of St Andrews (Chair)
  • Melissa Hanna-Brown, Pfizer Global R+D
  • Brendan Keely, University of York 
  • David Cole-Hamilton, University of St Andrews
  • Graham Hutchings, Cardiff University
  • Howard Colquhoun, University of Reading
  • Ray Jones, University of Loughborough
  • Tom Brown, University of Oxford
  • Gareth Price, University of Bath
  • Bryan Hanley, KTN 

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Milton Road, Science Park, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432384
Fax: +44 (0)1223 423623