Peter Day Award

The Peter Day Award is for outstanding contributions to, and advancement of, the field of Materials Chemistry.  The award will alternate between those specialising in the broad areas of soft matter (even years) and of continuous lattice solids (odd years).

2018 Winner

Professor Peter Skabara

2018 Peter Day Award Winner

Professor Peter Skabara, University of Glasgow

General information

  • Run annually
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Materials Chemistry Division Awards Committee            

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK and Republic of Ireland only
  • Nominees should be 55 or under on 31 January. Consideration will also be given to those who have taken career breaks or followed different study paths
  • Nominees' work must specialise in the broad area of soft matter/extended solids
  • Greater weight will be placed on recent work
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work    

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Materials Chemistry Division Awards Committee

  • Mark Weller (Chair), University of Bath
  • Martin Heeney, Imperial College London
  • Rachel O'Reilly, University of Birmingham
  • Fiona Meldrum, University of Leeds
  • David Amabilino, University of Nottingham
  • Eddie Cussen, University of Strathclyde        

Previous Winners

Peter Day Award Previous Winners

2008 - present

History of the Award

Peter Day
The RSC Peter Day Award (previously advertised as the Materials Chemistry Forum Mid-Career Award) was established in 2008.

This award recognises the contributions to Chemistry made by Peter Day. Obtaining his degree from Oxford, he remained there to carry out his doctoral research on inorganic mixed valence compounds and his seminal publication first systematised and rationalised the properties of this important class of materials.

He was one of the first protagonists of the new discipline of materials chemistry whose cause he championed in the Royal Society of Chemistry. His research centres around synthesising and characterising mainly molecular inorganic and metal-organic solids in a search for unusual magnetic and electron transport properties.

Peter Day has also served on many Royal Society and UK Research Council committees, the British Council Science Advisory Committee and the European Science Foundation.

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066