Rita and John Cornforth Award

The Rita and John Cornforth Award enables scientists working in collaborative research teams with both chemistry and the life sciences disciplines to be promoted and rewarded.

2018 Winner

This Award was not awarded for 2018.

General information

  • Run annually
  • Award winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • Award winner will be chosen by the Chemistry Biology Interface Division Awards Committee

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • Nominations must be for teams and not for individuals 
  • The award is open to teams based in the UK or internationally
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work   

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • A supporting statement (up to 7500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria, including a description of the research team's background, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Chemistry Biology Interface Division Awards Committee

  • Rob Field, John Innes Centre (Chair)
  • Tom Heightman, Astex, Cambridge
  • Riki Eggert, King's College London
  • Karen Faulds, University of Strathclyde
  • Laura Barter, Imperial College London
  • Ali Tavassoli, University of Southampton
  • Mark Bradley, The University of Edinburgh      

Previous Winners

Rita and John Cornforth Award Previous Winners

2008 - present

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066