Stephanie L Kwolek Award

The Stephanie L Kwolek Award is to recognise exceptional contributions to the area of materials chemistry from a scientist working outside the UK.

2016 Winner

Professor Nicholas Kotov

Stephanie L Kwolek Award 2016 Winner

Professor Nicholas Kotov, University of Michigan

General information

  • Run biennially - OPEN for 2018 nominations
  • Award winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • Award winner will be chosen by the Materials Chemistry Division Awards Committee

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees working outside of the UK and Republic of Ireland only
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award
  • When nominating recent Award and Prize winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work           

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this prize and will not be accepted

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator   

Materials Chemistry Division Awards Committee

  • Mark Weller (Chair), University of Bath
  • Martin Heeney, Imperial College London
  • Rachel O'Reilly, University of Warwick
  • Fiona Meldrum, University of Leeds
  • David Amabilino, University of Nottingham
  • Eddie Cussen, University of Strathclyde      

Previous Winners

Stephanie L Kwolek Award Previous Winners

2008 - present

History of the Award

The RSC Stephanie L Kwolek Award (previously advertised as the Materials Chemistry Forum International Award) was established in 2008. It is named after Stephanie Louise Kwolek, the inventor of Kevlar, who died in in 2014.

Stephanie is also one of our 175 Faces of Chemistry, celebrating diversity in science. To find out more, see below.

Stephanie Kwolek - 175 Faces of Chemistry

American-Polish chemist Stephanie invented Kevlar - the material used to make bullet proof vests and body armour

Link icon Stephanie Kwolek's obituary
The Guardian

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2018. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066