Industry-Academia Collaboration Award

The Industry-Academia Collaboration Award (previously the Teamwork in Innovation Award) recognises outstanding examples of teamwork in promoting innovation through industry-academia partnerships.

2018 Winner

Prof Rachel O'Reilly and Dr Emma Chapman

2018 Industry-Academia Collaboration Award Winner

BP Project Pelican, BP & University of Birmingham

General information

  • Runs annually
  • The award winner will be chosen by an independent selection panel   

Guidelines for nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this award 
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or Republic of Ireland only 
  • The award is open to teams of any size working on a collaborative project between industry and academia. The project may be a discrete part of a larger, on-going industrial programme or stand alone. Industry-academia current or past partnerships welcome.  


To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system. If you are an RSC member please make sure you have the membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be asked to provide:

  • A supporting statement  (up to 7500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria below    

There is no requirement for detailed technical or commercial data to be provided.

Examples of valid applications might be the innovation and development of a new chemistry based product or process or obtaining a substantial yield improvement by a novel technique.

When nominating recent Prize or Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be rewarded twice for substantially the same body of work.

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • Scope of collaboration - the rationale for the work carried out in partnership and the contributions made each party
  • Scale - the scale of efforts in terms of time and size of the team
  • Achievements and impact - the achievements and the technical, environmental, social or monetary benefits arising from the work.

Selection panel

  • Roy Sandbach, Newcastle University (Chair)
  • Jacquin Wilford-Brown, AkzoNobel
  • Mark Gronnow, Biorenewables Development Centre
  • Keith Layden, Croda
  • Christian Jones, Johnson Matthey
  • Alexander Alanine, Nanna Therapeutics 

Previous Winners

Industry-Academia Collaboration Award 2017 Winner

Gold VCM, Cardiff University & Johnson Matthey

Teamwork in Innovation Award 2016 Winner

GlaxoSmithKline & University of Edinburgh

Teamwork in Innovation Award 2015 Winner

Procter & Gamble and Durham University Partnership

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2019. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066