Science and the Parliament 2015

11 November 2015, Edinburgh, United Kingdom

This year’s event will have the theme of Science and the Scottish General Election, given the proximity of the contest next May.

There will be sessions on: Education & Research; Science & Society; and Innovation & the

Guest speakers will include: Professor Dominic Tildesley, President of the Royal Society of
Chemistry; Professor Neva Haites, Vice President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh;
Professor Andrew Morris, Chief Scientific Officer for Health, the Scottish Government and
Professor Lesley Yellowlees, Vice Principal of the University of Edinburgh.

There will also be addresses by leading politicians from all of the parties represented in the
Scottish Parliament.

The event has run annually since 2000 and attracts an audience across the scientific and
Engineering disciplines, MSPs and other policy makers.

A full programme of speakers can now be downloaded from this page. The event runs from 1230 – 1745 with an evening reception.

To register for this free event please use the book now button at the top of the page.

Exhibiting at Science and the Parliament

If your organisation would like to have an exhibition stand at the event please contact Harriet
Gould, or on 01223 432693

  • Professor Alan Alexander General Secretary, The Royal Society of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Dr Alasdair Allan MSP Minister for Learning, Science & Scotland’s Languages, United Kingdom
  • Professor Tim Bedford Deputy Principal, University of Strathclyde, United Kingdom
  • Dr Stephen Breslin Glasgow Science Centre, United Kingdom
  • Kezia Dugdale MSP Leader, Scottish Labour Party, United Kingdom
  • Jon Edwards Royal Society of Chemistry, United Kingdom
  • Professor Julie Fitzpatrick Moredun Research Institute Scientific Director &Group CEO, United Kingdom
  • Professor Neva Haites Vice President, Royal Society of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • Professor Andrew Morris Chief Scientific Officer for Health, the Scottish Government, United Kingdom
  • Liz Smith MSP Scottish Conservative Party, United Kingdom
  • Professor Garry Taylor Deputy Principal, University of St. Andrews, United Kingdom
  • Professor Dominic Tildesley President, Royal Society of Chemistry, United Kingdom
  • Professor Bob Tooze Managing Director, Sasol Technology, United Kingdom
  • Professor Lesley Yellowlees Vice Principal, University of Edinburgh, United Kingdom
  • William Rennie MSP Leader, Scottish Liberal Democrats, United Kingdom
  • Patrick Harvie MSP Leader, Scottish Green Party, United Kingdom

Sponsorship & supporting organisations
Our Dymanic Earth

Our Dymanic Earth, Holyrood Road, Edinburgh, EH8 8AS, United Kingdom

Organised by
Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry