2019 New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Conference

24 November 2019 12:00 - 28 November 2019 12:00, Christchurch, New Zealand

2019 New Zealand Institute of Chemistry Conference
Welcome to the 2019 NZIC Conference. This is the premier meeting of the New Zealand Institute of Chemistry with a significant number of international participants. It will be held in Christchurch, New Zealand, the gateway to the South Island with many beautiful places to visit before or after the conference. The venue for the conference is the beautiful campus of the University of Canterbury with new exciting research and teaching spaces and a refurbished campus.

We have an exciting academic and social meeting planned showcasing a wide variety of chemistry; we expect there will be something for everyone and plenty of opportunity to network.

We are delighted to have the following plenary speakers:

Professor Jas Pal Badyal FRS. Honours relating to his work on Functional Surfaces include: the Royal Society of Chemistry Harrison Medal; the British Vacuum Council Burch Prize; the Royal Society of Chemistry Tilden Medal; the Chemical Research Society of India (CRSI) Medal, and a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS)—UK and Commonwealth National Academy of Sciences.  His research was included in The UK’s Best Breakthroughs List—100 most significant breakthroughs to come from UK universities, and has led to 3 valuable start-up companies: Surface Innovations Ltd; Dow Corning Plasma Ltd; and P2i Ltd (2015 International Business Award for ‘Most Innovative Company in Europe’).

Professor Chantelle Capicciotti – 2019 Ferrier Lecture. Her research is at the interface of organic chemistry, biochemistry, and cell biology, with an interest in understanding how glycans and glycoproteins interact with binding-proteins in cell-based platforms to elicit biological functions, and on developing carbohydrate-based approaches for biomarker identification, therapeutics, disease diagnosis, imaging techniques and cell-based therapies.

Professor David Read. He is researching the roles of subject matter knowledge and pedagogical content knowledge in teacher development at school and university level. David was promoted to Professorial Fellow in Chemical Education in 2015 and was awarded a National Teaching Fellowship in 2017.

Professor Anne McCoy. Her research focuses on two interrelated areas of theoretical investigation; large amplitude vibrational motions even at low-levels of excitation and more fundamental phenomena, such as hydrogen bonding or long-range charge transfer. Her research has been recognized through a CAREER Award from the NSF; Camille Dreyfus Teacher/Scholar Award and Crano Lectureship from the Akron Section of the ACS.   While at Ohio State she received both the Distinguished Scholar Award and Harlan Hatcher Award Arts and Sciences Distinguished Faculty Award in 2013.

Professor Dame Margaret Brimble FRS is the Director of Medicinal Chemistry and a Distinguished Professor at the University of Auckland where her research program focuses on the synthesis of bioactive natural products, antimicrobial peptides, cancer vaccines, glycopeptides, self-assembling peptides and peptidomimetics.

Dr Eric Scerri. He is the acknowledged world’s expert on historical and philosophical aspects of the periodic table of the elements.

Professor Katrina Jolliffe. She has been awarded the Beckwith (2004), Biota (2006), Birch (2017) and H. G. Smith (2018) medals of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute. Her research interests are in the areas of supramolecular and organic chemistry, with a focus on the design and synthesis of functional molecules, such as molecular sensors capable of detecting anions in biological environments.
**Member fees apply to NZIC, RACI, RSC and ACS members**

Sponsorship & supporting organisations
The University of Canterbury 
The University of Canterbury

The University of Canterbury, The University of Canterbury, Christchurch, 8041, New Zealand

Organised by
New Zealand Institute of Chemistry
Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry