MC10: International Conference on Materials Chemistry

4 - 7 July 2011, Manchester, United Kingdom

The 'MC' conference series has provided a showcase for materials chemistry for almost two decades, and is the flagship event of the RSC's Materials Chemistry Division.

Recent editions of the MC series have been very successful: MC7, held in Edinburgh in 2005, attracted over 450 delegates; and MC8 saw 500 scientists present their work and network in central London. In 2009, the RSC was proud to incorporate MC9 into the scientific programme of the 42nd IUPAC World Congress (IUPAC 2009). Comprising 16 symposia across 5 of the congress' 17 parallel sessions, MC9 reached an audience of over 2000 delegates.


The series returned in 2011 to its traditional format as a standalone conference over four days, beginning at lunchtime on Monday 4 July and ending at lunchtime on Thursday 7 July. 

The five main themes were distributed across four parallel sessions. There were plenary lectures at the beginning and end of the conference, and at the beginning and end of each of the two middle days. Each symposium had a keynote speaker followed by contributed speakers. 

Two poster sessions were held over the course of the conference, from 4 to 5 July, and 6 to 7 July.


Energy and sustainability 
Topics: photovoltaics; batteries; supercapacitors; fuel cells; thermoelectric materials; hydrogen and gas storage; carbon capture; sustainable feedstocks.

Advanced technologies & nanomaterials 
Topics: carbons (graphene, nanotubes, fullerenes), organics, inorganics, hybrids and nanocomposites for electronics; photonics; magnetics; sensors; printing and coating; molecular separations.

Life and health  
Topics: biomaterials; biomimetic chemistry; biomineralization; tissue engineering; drug delivery; prosthetics; water treatment.

Soft matter  
Topics: polymers; polymer-inorganic hybrids; colloids; liquid crystals; supramolecular systems.

Crystalline solids  
Topics: metal-organic frameworks; zeolites; mesoporous solids; intermetallic compounds; transition metal oxides; nanocrystals.

Scientific Committee

Professor Peter M. Budd, University of Manchester, UK (Chair)
Professor Matt. J. Rosseinsky, University of Liverpool, UK (Co-chair)
Dr Peter Slater, University of Birmingham, UK
Dr Martin Heeney, Imperial College London, UK 
Professor Fiona Meldrum, University of Leeds, UK
Professor Ullrich Steiner, University of Cambridge, UK
Dr Martin Attfield, University of Manchester, UK

International Advisory Committee

Professor Peter Bruce FRS, University of St Andrews, UK
Professor Dr Joachim Maier, Max-Planck Institute for Solid-State Research, Germany 
Professor Shu Yamaguchi, The University of Tokyo, Japan
Professor Alberto Salleo, Stanford University, USA
Professor Molly Stevens, Imperial College London, UK
Professor Anthony J Ryan OBE, University of Sheffield, UK
Professor David Andelman, Tel Aviv University, Israel
Professor C.N.R. Rao, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore, India
Dr Antoine Maignan, Laboratoire CRISMAT, Caen, France
Sponsorship & supporting organisations
University of Manchester

University of Manchester, Renold building, Sackville Street Campus, Manchester, M1 3BB, United Kingdom

Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry