Phishing warning 01-May-2024
We are aware of phishing emails targeting speakers of events whose names appear on our events pages. If you are unsure if an email regarding event registration or accommodation has come from us please contact us and do not provide any credit card details or personal information

Dalton Transactions New Talent: Americas Desktop Seminar

2 December 2021 16:00-17:30, Online

Join us for this seminar chaired by Dalton Transactions Associate Editor Professor Christine Thomas and featuring speakers who published in the Dalton Transactions 2020 New Talent: Americas themed issue.

Dalton Transactions is providing an opportunity for emerging investigators to present, discuss and showcase their inorganic chemistry research. The talks cover a wide spectrum of topics within inorganic chemistry, including organometallic chemistry, main group chemistry and inorganic materials.

This 90-minute seminar will allow researchers of all professional levels to connect, share ideas, and ask questions. Be sure to register for the free seminar today!


  • Professor Cynthia L. M. Pereira (Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil) - “Mononuclear lanthanide(III) complexes containing oxamate ligands: synthesis, photophysical and magnetic properties”
  • Professor David Herbert (University of Manitoba, Canada) - “Exploiting Ligand C=N Units in Molecular Materials Chemistry”
  • Professor Rebekka Klausen (Johns Hopkins University, USA) - "Fragments of crystalline silicon via target-oriented synthesis"


4:00 PM GMT (1:00 PM BRT / 11:00 AM EST) – Welcome & introduction

4:05 PM GMT (1:00 PM BRT / 11:00 AM EST) - “Mononuclear lanthanide(III) complexes containing oxamate ligands: synthesis, photophysical and magnetic properties”, Cynthia L. M. Pereira (Federal University of Minas Gerais)
4:30 PM GMT (1:00 PM BRT / 11:00 AM EST) – “Exploiting Ligand C=N Units in Molecular Materials Chemistry”, David Herbert (University of Manitoba)

4:55 PM GMT (1:55 PM BRT / 11:55 PM EST) – "Fragments of crystalline silicon via target-oriented synthesis", Rebekka Klausen (Johns Hopkins University)

5:20 PM GMT (2:20 PM BRT / 12:20 PM EST) – Closing remarks
Professor Dr. Cynthia L. M. Pereira, Federal University of Minas Gerais, Brazil

Cynthia L. M. Pereira is an associate Professor IV of the Chemistry Department, Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (UFMG), since 2009. She holds a technical chemistry course from the CEFET-MG (1992), a bachelor's degree in Chemistry from the Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (1997), and Ph.D. in Sciences with an emphasis on Inorganic Chemistry by Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais (2003). She completed a postdoctoral fellowship at the Université Pierre et Marie Curie (2005) and was a visiting professor at the University of California, Berkeley, USA (2019-2020). In 2017, Cynthia was awarded the UFMG Thesis Award and also the CAPES Thesis Prize (1st place) for her role as doctoral advisor. Cynthia’s experience is in inorganic chemistry, working mainly on the following subjects: synthesis and characterization of coordination compounds, coordination polymers, molecular magnetism, supramolecular chemistry, and multifunctional magnetic compounds.

Professor David Herbert, University of Manitoba, Canada

Dave Herbert received his PhD from the University of Bristol in 2009. Following postdoctoral training at Texas A&M and Caltech, he joined the Department of Chemistry at the University of Manitoba and is currently an Associate Professor and a Faculty of Science Research Chair in Fundamental Science, with research interests in ligand design, molecular materials and sustainable synthesis.

Professor Rebekka Klausen, Johns Hopkins University, United States

Rebekka S. Klausen, Ph.D., joined the Johns Hopkins Department of Chemistry as an assistant professor in 2013. In 2019, she was named the Second Decade Society Associate Professor. Her research program in polymer chemistry and synthesis has resulted in more than 25 peer-reviewed manuscripts, one book chapter, and two patents. Rebekka has been recognized with numerous awards, including the Department of Energy Early Career Award (2015), the Sloan Research Fellowship (2017), the Marion Milligan Mason Award for Women in the Chemical Sciences (2017), the JHU Catalyst Award (2017), the National Science Foundation CAREER Award (2018) and the American Chemical Society Award in Pure Chemistry (2021). She was most recently named a finalist for the Blavatnik National Award for Young Scientists (2021). 
Rebekka is a native of Brookline, Mass. and received her B. S. degree in Biochemistry from Boston College in 2005. From 2005-2011, she carried out her graduate studies in organic synthesis under the supervision of Professor Eric N. Jacobsen (Harvard University, Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology). In 2011, Rebekka moved to New York to complete postdoctoral research in single molecule electronics with Professor Colin Nuckolls (Columbia University, Department of Chemistry).


GoToWebinar, Online,

Organised by
Contact information
Showing all upcoming events
Start Date
End Date
Subject area
Event type


E-mail Enquiry