Centenary Prize 2017 Winner

Professor Odile Eisenstein
Professor Odile Eisenstein
CNRS- Université de Montpellier and University of Oslo


Awarded for seminal contributions to the theoretical understanding of transition metal complexes and the successful prediction of unknown properties and pathways


About the Winner

Odile Eisenstein, currently “Directeur de Recherche Emerite” at the National Center for Scientific Research (CNRS) in France and adjunct Professor at the University of Oslo, was born in 1949 in France. After a PhD in 1977 with Nguyen Trong Anh and Lionel Salem at the University of Paris Sud-Orsay, she spent a first post-doctoral stay with Jack Dunitz (ETH, Zurich) and with Roald Hoffmann (Cornell). She started her independent academic career at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, before returning to France, where she rose to the highest rank within the CNRS. She initially led the theory group at the University of Paris Sud-Orsay and then founded and headed the theoretical chemistry group at the University of Sciences in Montpellier. She has been an invited Professor at many Universities including Indiana, Texas A & M, Nottingham, York, Vancouver, Berkeley and Technion. 

She has received numerous awards including the Langevin Award from the French Academy of Science, the Silver Medal from the CNRS, the Le Bel Award from the French Chemical Society, the Frankland Award from the RSC, and the Organometallic Award from the ACS. She holds honorary degrees from the University of Indiana, Laval University, University of Oslo and University of York. She is a member of the French Academy of Science and of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science. She is also a foreign member of the Norwegian Academy of Sciences and Letters and of the Academy of North Rhine Westphalia. She is Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur and Officier de l’Ordre du Mérite. 

Related Links

Link icon Professor Eisenstein's Webpage
CNRS- Université de Montpellier

External links will open in a new browser window