Corday-Morgan Prize 2009 Winner

2009 Corday-Morgan Prize winner Andrew deMello
Andrew deMello
Imperial College London

Awarded for his pioneering work in microfluidics, and in the field of nanobioanalytical research.

About the winner

Andrew deMello is Professor of Chemical Nanosciences and Head of the Nanostructured Materials and Devices Section in the Chemistry Department at Imperial College London. 

He obtained a 1st Class Degree in Chemistry and PhD in Molecular Photophysics from Imperial College London in 1995 and subsequently held a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in the Department of Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley. 

His research group is engaged in a broad range of activities in the general area of microfluidics and nanoscale science. Primary specialisations include the development of microfluidic devices for high-throughput analysis, ultra-sensitive optical detection techniques, nanofluidic reaction systems for chemical synthesis, novel methods for nanoparticle synthesis, the exploitation of semiconducting materials in diagnostic applications and the development of intelligent microfluidics. 

Andrew is co-founder of Molecular Vision Ltd, an Imperial College spin-out company developing low-cost diagnostic devices for use in the doctor's surgery and in the home. He has given over 150 invited lectures in North America, Europe, Africa and Asia, has published 120 papers in refereed journals, and co-authored two books. 

  • 2002 - awarded the SAC Silver Medal by the Royal Society of Chemistry for his contributions to the Analytical Sciences
  • 2004 - became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry
  • 2009 - awarded the Clifford Paterson Medal by The Royal Society for contributions to Nanotechnology.

Related Links

Link icon Andrew deMello's homepage
The Department of Chemistry at Imperial College London

External links will open in a new browser window