Faraday Lectureship Prize

The Faraday Lectureship Prize is awarded for exceptional contributions to physical or theoretical chemistry.

2018 Winner

Professor Graham Hutchings

2018 Faraday Lectureship Prize Winner

Professor Graham Hutchings, Cardiff University

General information

  • Run biennially - CLosed for 2021 nominations
  • The winner receives 5000, a medal and a certificate  
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour         
  • Prize winners are chosen by the Faraday Division Awards Committee    

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this prize
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The prize is open to nominees based in the UK and internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this prize
  • Work published in the last 10 years will be given particular consideration
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work    

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted    

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Prizes

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Prizes as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator      

Faraday Division Awards Committee

  • Claire Vallance, University of Oxford (Chair)
  • Sam Stranks, University of Cambridge
  • Helen Fielding, University College London
  • Maria Sanz, King's College London
  • Radha Boya, University of Manchester
  • David Tozer, Durham University
  • Stephen Armes, University of Sheffield    

Previous Winners

Faraday Lectureship Prize Previous Winners

1869 - present

History of the Prize

This Prize, founded in 1867, commemorates the name of Michael Faraday, an elected fellow and keen advocate of the, then-called, Chemical Society.

Faraday was born in 1791 in Surrey.  He started work as an apprentice bookseller in 1804 where he met Mr Dance, a member of the Royal Institute, who helped him attend Sir Humphrey Davy's lectures.  These inspired him to apply to Davy for employment and in 1813 he began as a laboratory assistant at the Royal Institute (where he would later become director).  After less than a year Faraday resigned his post in order to accompany Davy on a tour through France, Switzerland and Italy where he initiated lasting friendships with highly regarded philosophers.

On his return, in 1815, he resumed work at the Royal Institution and began research which he continued throughout his life.  Published research included the discovery of magneto-electricity (1831), the great law of electrochemical composition (1833), and researches in atmospheric magnetism (1850).  Some of his greatest chemical discoveries were the condensation of gases, including chlorine, and the production of new hydrocarbons, including benzol.

Faraday was highly regarded for his enthusiastic lecturing style, which often included successful experimental demonstrations.  His Royal Institute lectures began in 1827 on the topic of Chemical Philosophy, and closed in 1860 with a Christmas course on the Chemical History of a Candle.  Faraday was widely recognised for his contributions through numerous awards, including the Royal Society's Copley, Rumford and Royal Medals, and election as a member to all the great scientific bodies in Europe and America.

Faraday gradually withdrew from active duties and died on 25 August 1867. The Chemical Society, in which he always took great interest, said of him "In all relations of life, Faraday was respected and beloved".

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066