Faraday Lectureship Prize 2014 Winner

Professor Michel Che
Professor Michel Che
Université Pierre et Marie Curie-Paris 6 & Institut Universitaire de France

For pioneering a molecular approach to catalyst design by bridging the gap between homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis through the new field of interfacial coordination chemistry.

About the Winner

Professor Michel Che was educated at Ecole Supérieure de Chimie Industrielle de Lyon and obtained his PhD in 1968 (University of Lyon). He was postdoctoral fellow at Princeton University (1969-1971). He was a regular visiting scientist at the AERE (Harwell, UK) (1972-1983). He was appointed Professor at University Pierre & Marie Curie-Paris 6 in 1975 and became Senior Member of the Institut Universitaire de France in 1995. 

He was President-Founder of EFCATS, European Federation of Catalysis Societies, (1993-1995) and started in 1993 the biennial "EuropaCat" congresses. He was President of the International Association of Catalysis Societies (2000-2004) and coordinated the organisation of its 13th International Congress in Paris in 2004.

His work concerns surface reactivity with emphasis on the functionalization of inorganic oxides and heterogeneous catalysis. He pioneered a molecular approach, based on transition metal complexes taken as probes, specific isotopes and physical techniques. His work has led to the emergence of interfacial coordination chemistry at the crossroads of chemistry. His work has largely contributed to improve our understanding of the elementary processes involved in laboratory/industrial catalysis, and bridged the gap between homo- and heterogeneous catalysis.

Michel Che received distinctions worldwide including F. Gault Lectureship (EFCATS), (J.H. Van't Hoff (NL), M. Sklodowska-Curie and P. Curie (PL), Centenary Medal (F), Centenary Lectureship (UK), Von Humboldt-Gay-Lussac and Grignard-Wittig Lectureship (D), Frontiers in chemical research Lectureship (USA), JSPS Lectureship (J), CAS Gold Medal (China). He is DHC of several universities (Cracow, Lisbon, Bucharest, Osaka Prefecture) and member of several academies (e.g. Academia Europaea, German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina, Hungarian Academy of Sciences).

Related Links

External links will open in a new browser window