Lord Lewis Prize

The Lord Lewis Prize is for distinctive and distinguished chemical or scientific achievements, together with significant contributions to the development of science policy.

Sponsored by Johnson Matthey.

2018 Winner

Professor Luis Oro

2018 Lord Lewis Prize Winner

Professor Luis Oro, University of Zaragoza-CSIC

General information

  • Run biennially - Closed for 2021 nominations
  • The winner receives 5000, a medal and a certificate         
  • Prize winners are chosen by the RSC Awards Working Group          

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January 
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this prize
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The prize is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this prize
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work 

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this prize and will not be accepted 

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Prizes

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Prizes as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator      

Awards Working Group

  • Duncan Bruce, University of York (Chair)
  • Duncan Graham, University of Strathclyde 
  • Rob Field, University of Manchester 
  • Robert Mulvey, University of Strathclyde
  • Simon Lancaster, University of East Anglia
  • Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Heriot-Watt University
  • Claire Vallance, University of Oxford
  • Roy Sandbach, Newcastle University
  • Milo Shaffer, Imperial College London
  • Stuart Conway, University of Oxford 

Previous Winners

Lord Lewis Prize Previous Winners

2008 - present

History of the Prize

The Lord Lewis prize, established in 2008, marks the significant contributions of Professor Lord Lewis to both chemistry and the advancement of science policy.

Lord Lewis's academic career began at the University of London where he gained his BSc, followed by the completion of a PhD at the University of Nottingham.  His lecturing career commenced with appointment as a lecturer at Sheffield University (1954-56), continuing at Imperial College London (1957-61) and then reader and lecturer at UCL (1957-61).  Professorships in Chemistry followed at the University of Manchester, UCL and the University of Cambridge, where he also became the first warden of Robinson College.
Lord Lewis's research has resulted in significant developments in the chemistry of the d-transition metals, including in the areas of organometallic and cluster chemistry, and synthesis and characterisation of compounds with new magnetic properties.  He has received many accolades for his work including the Royal Society's Davy medal (1985) and the Royal Medal (2004).

His positive influence on science policy has evolved through his active involvement in numerous committees including, but not limited to, the NATO Scientific Committee, the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution and the Environmental Industries Commission.  He received his knighthood in 1982, sits on the Advisory Council for the Campaign for Science and Engineering, and is a member of the House of Lords where he is a member of Select Committees on Science and Technology.

He was President of the Royal Society of Chemistry from 1986-88 and made an Honorary Fellow in 1988.


We would like to thank Johnson Matthey for their generous support of the award.

Johnson Matthey

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2020. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066