Pedler Award

The Pedler Award is for contributions to any area of organic chemistry from an established career scientist.

2019 Winner

Professor Arnudi Studer

2019 Pedler Award Winner

Professor Armido Studer, University of Münster

General information

  • Run annually
  • The winner receives £2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Organic Division Awards Committee            

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK and internationally
  • Nominees should be an established career scientist, typically with no more than 30 years of full-time equivalent professional experience. 
  • This should be experience gained as part of a scientific career excluding time spent in full-time education. Time spent as a postgraduate student should not be included e.g. Masters, PhD. Time spent as a post-doctoral researcher should be included. 
  • Nominators will be asked to provide details of the nominee's professional experience, in relation to the above criteria.   
  • Career breaks will be recognised, and applications are particularly encouraged from those whose career has spanned a break due to caring responsibilities or personal circumstances e.g. a period of parental/adoption leave, family commitments, illness, or other exceptional circumstances.
  • Nominees will be assessed on their work published in the previous five years 
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work       

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted    

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator    

Organic Division Awards Committee

  • Stuart Conway, University of Oxford (Chair)
  • Steve Marsden, University of Leeds
  • Sarah Skerratt, MSD
  • Alethea Tabor, University College London
  • Mariola Tortosa, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
  • Andrew C Williams, Eli Lilly

Previous Winners

Pedler Award Previous Winners

1929 - present

History of the Award

Originally the Pedler lectureship, founded in 1927, this award commemorates Sir Alexander Pedler, benefactor of the Royal Society of London, the Chemical Society, the Institute of Chemistry and the British Science Guild.

Born in London in 1849 Pedler attended the City of London School and won the Pharmaceutical Society's Bell Scholarship at the age of 17.  His education continued at the Royal School of Mines and then the Royal College of Chemistry in Oxford Street, with an intermittent period of employment at Perkin & Sons original aniline factory.  His research at the Royal College of Chemistry, under Sir Edward Frankland, led to a publication in 1868 in the Journal of the Chemical Society.  That same year he joined the Solar Eclipse Expedition, a theme that continued with his involvement in the Eclipse Expeditions of 1875 and 1893.

Pedler's lecturing career began in 1871 as a demonstrator to Frankland, subsequently becoming Professor of Chemistry in the Presidency College, Calcutta, in 1873.  His great interest in meteorological phenomena continued however, and he held the position of the Bengal Government's Meteorological Reporter for 22 years.  During his time in Calcutta he held the posts of Principal of the Presidency College, Vice-Chancellor of Calcutta University, Minister of Public Instruction and additional Member of the Legislative Council.  Research interests during this time included cobra poison and the influence of tropical sunlight on chemical change.

Pedler received a number of honours for his contributions including Fellow of the Royal Society (1892), Companion of the Indian Empire (CIE, 1901), a knighthood (1906) and Hon. Secretary of the British Science Guild.  Pedler completed research as part of the war effort for the Ministry of Munitions, where he sadly died during a visit in 1918.

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066