Nobel prize in chemistry 2016


The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2016 was awarded jointly to Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines".

Type of Activity

working independently



Age Group

11 to Teacher

The Chemistry Prize has been awarded to 175 Nobel Laureates since 1901. The 2016 Chemistry Prize was announced on Wednesday 5th October 2016.


On 27 November 1895, Alfred Nobel signed his last will and testament, giving the largest share of his fortune to a series of prizes, the Nobel Prizes. As described in Nobel's will one part was dedicated to “the person who shall have made the most important chemical discovery or improvement”. 

Read Chemistry World's aritcle on the prize winning research here.