Thermo-Hilger Award

Closing date for nominations 28 February 2018. 

The award is presented biennially to an RSC member in the early stages of their career  who uses atomic spectrometry during their work. The winner receives a cash/book prize and free registration (including meals, events and conference dinner) to attend a major national conference on atomic spectroscopy. This year, the award includes registration for the 19th Biennial National Atomic Spectroscopy Symposium (BNASS ) at St Mary's University in Twickenham, 2-4th July 2018.


The Thermo-Hilger Award is the Atomic Spectroscopy Group's award for young scientists who are judged to have made a major contribution to analytical atomic spectroscopy which may be in such fields as atomic absorption, atomic fluorescence, atomic emission, ICP-MS and X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy. The contribution need not be theoretical and may include areas such as applications, instrumental development or modification, improvement in data handling, calibration procedures or sample preparation.

This award has evolved from the "Book Prize" first awarded by ASG in 1975. It became the Hilger prize in 1983 and was then awarded biennially from 1994. The Hilger Company were a prominent spectroscopy instrument manufacturer in the 1960s and 1970s, becoming part of Thermo in 1993, and is now Thermo Fisher Scientific. In 2008, the award was re-named the Thermo-Hilger Prize to reflect this and it is now known as the Thermo-Hilger Award. 

Previous Winners

Book Prize (1975 - 1982)

1975 – Barry Sharp
1976 – unknown
1977 – unknown
1978 – David Littlejohn
1979 – Dr. Samuel
1980 – Mark Cave
1981 – no winner
1982 – no winner


Hilger prize (1983-2008)

1983 – John Marshall
1984 – Dick Snook
1985 – M.J. Cope
1986 – S.E. Long
1987 – Steve Hill
1988 – John Williams
1989 – R. Duffield
1990 – John Carroll
1991 – Simon Chenery
1992 – no winner. Prize then became biennial
1994 – Hywel Evans
1996 – Warren Corns
1998 – Claire Smith
2000 – Karen Sutton
2002 – Simon Nelms
2004 – Jason day
2006 – Helle Hansen
2008 – Ryan Brennan

Contact and Further Information

Dr A S Fisher CChem MRSC
School of Earth, Ocean and Environmental Sciences, University of Plymouth, Drake Circus, Plymouth PL4 8AA
Tel: +44 (0) 1752 233000
Fax: +44 (0) 1752 233035