BTM Willis Prize

In 2007 the Neutron Scattering Group established a prize for outstanding neutron scattering science. 

The prize is named in honour of the founding chairman of the Neutron Scattering Group, Professor B T M Willis. It is intended that the prize will be awarded annually, usually in conjunction with the annual Neutron and Muon Beam Users Meeting, NMUM.

The prize is awarded to an individual in recognition of a single outstanding piece of work, or a longer term coherent body of work, in the application of neutron scattering to a significant problem in physics, chemistry, materials science, earth science, the life sciences, or engineering, or alternatively in recognition of a major development in neutron scattering instrumentation or techniques.


The recipient of the prize will normally be an early career scientist, i.e. in the first 12 years of a research career (allowing for career breaks) e.g. following an award of a first degree, who has made a substantial contribution to the development or reputation of physics/chemistry/biology in the UK or Ireland.

Previous Winners

Dr Anita Zeidler
University of Bath

Dr Sihai Yang
University of Nottingham

Dr Sylvia Ellen McLain
University of Oxford

Dr Robert Dalgliesh
ISIS, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory 

Dr Radu Coldea
University of Bristol 

Dr Giovanna Fragneto
Institute Laue-Langevin, Grenoble

Downloadable Files

BTM Willis Prize in Neutron Scattering 2014
The IOP Neutron Scattering Group and the Faraday Division of the Royal Society of Chemistry have established a prize for outstanding neutron scattering science.
PDF iconPDF (52k)  

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Contact and Further Information

Dr Kathi Edkins MRSC