Josef Loschmidt Award 2014 Winner

AnnMarie O'Donoghue; 2014 Loschmidt Prize Winner

AnnMarie O'Donoghue MRSC
Durham University, UK


Awarded to Dr AnnMarie O’Donoghue for her significant contributions to the understanding of proton transfer at carbon in both organocatalytic and biological reaction mechanisms, which has been achieved through rigorous kinetic studies of the fundamental acid-base properties of N-heterocyclic carbenes.

About the Winner

AnnMarie O'Donoghue was born in Dublin (Ireland) and graduated from University College Dublin in 1995 (BSc 1st class, Eva Philbin medal awarded for graduating top of BSc class).She remained at the same institution for her PhD studies in physical organic chemistry under the supervision of Professor Rory More O’Ferrall. Her PhD was awarded in November 1999 for her research on the formation and reactions of reactive carbocation intermediates.

In 1999, she was awarded a Fulbright Fellowship to pursue postdoctoral studies in the research group of Professor John Richard in the University at Buffalo, the State University of New York (USA). There she worked on the dynamics of the proton transfer reactions of triosephosphate isomerase. She returned to University College Dublin for a brief period in 2002 as a short-term Lecturer in Organic Chemistry. In 2003, she was awarded a Marie Curie Fellowship for postdoctoral studies on the directed evolution of proteins with Dr Florian Hollfelder in the Department of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge (UK).

From 2004-2005, she again returned to University College Dublin as a Lecturer in Organic Chemistry. In 2005 she moved to a Lectureship in Organic Chemistry in the Department of Chemistry, Durham University (UK). Apart from a career break in 2008-2009 due to the birth of twins, she has since remained in Durham University as an independent researcher and was promoted to Senior Lecturer in 2012. Her research focuses on mechanistic studies of organic and biological transformations.

Related Links

Link icon AnnMarie O'Donoghues Web Page
Department of Chemistry, Durham University, UK

External links will open in a new browser window