Young Scientist Award

The award is awarded biennially to an exceptional scientist, in the early stages of their career, working in the broadly defined area of statistical mechanics and thermodynamics. The winner will receive £500 , a certificate and will be invited to give a lecture at the Royal Society of Chemistry's Solving the electrolyte Problem (University of Manchester, 9-11 January 2019) with registration fees waived.

The winner of the 2019 Young Scientist Award is Dr Alice Thorneywork

Eligibility for the Young Scientist Award

Those eligible for awards should have made a substantial contribution to the field of thermodynamics and statistical 
mechanics in the UK or Ireland. Experimental and theoretical research are both eligible.

Candidates must normally be within 10 years of beginning their PhD and should be working in the UK, either in academia or industry, at the time of their nomination. Members of the SMTG Committee are not eligible for awards.

The SMTG committee will judge the applications. Any SMTG committee member with a conflict of interest will not be allowed to judge that particular nomination.

Please complete the form below electronically (preferred), or on paper using black ink or type.

Previous recipients

2019- Dr Alice Thorneywork, University of Cambridge.

2017- Dr John Russo, University of Bristol.

Nomination Process for the Young Scientist Award

The Proposer should complete the form below, and send it by the deadline accompanied by:

  1. A citation of no more than 300 words, written for a scientifically literate lay person, attesting to the contribution made by the nominee in the area of thermodynamics and statistical mechanics.
  2. A curriculum vitae for the nominee (full publication list not required).
  3. A list, with dates, of the nominee's most significant contributions, together with their most significant publications (up to four). 

Completed forms and supporting material should be sent to Dr Karl Travis. 

Downloadable Files

Young Scientist Nomination Form 2018
Download the nomination form for SMTG Young Scientist Award
Word Document iconWord (42k)  

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Dr Karl Travis CChem FRSC
Immobilisation Science Laboratory Department of Materials Science and Engineering University of Sheffield Sir Robert Hadfield Building Mappin Street Sheffield S1 3JD

Website: Karl Travis Link icon

Lennard-Jones Lectureship

The Lennard–Jones Lectureship and Prize has a long and illustrious history. It was originally awarded in alternate years by the Theoretical Chemistry Group and the Statistical Mechanics and Thermodynamics Group (SMTG) of the RSC and then biennially by the SMTG alone. 

A recipient must have made an outstanding contribution to the field of statistical mechanics and thermodynamics and must be of international calibre.

The award is open to all nationalities and the recipient is decided by the SMTG Committee.

Since 2001 this award (and the accompanying lecture) has been given in the Thermodynamics series of conferences.


2019 Denis J Evans

2017 R Lynden-Bell

2015   M Allen

2013   K E Gubbins 

2011   H N W Lekkerkerker 

2009   K Binder 

2007   R Evans 

2005   G Schneider 

2003   J-P Hansen 

2001   D Chandler 

1999   E Sackmann 

1997   D Frenkel 

1995   M E Fisher 

1993   B Widom 

1992   B T Sutcliffe 

1991   W M Gelbart 

1990   A J Stone 

1989   P-G de Gennes 

1988   G G Hall 

1987   J M Deutch & I Oppenheim 

1986   A D Buckingham 

1985   J S Rowlinson 

1984   N C Handy 

1983   L A K Staveley 

1982   J A Pople 

Contact and Further Information

Dr Karl Travis MRSC