Dr Sabrina Kiani


Sabrina graduated from Manchester University with an honours degree in chemistry. She went on to gain a masters degree in the Department of Chemistry and thereafter a doctorate in systems biology and nano-technology from the Department of Chemical Engineering and Analytical Science. Sabrina started her professional career working for a biotechnology company in research and development. Her current interests include her role as a Stem Ambassador, a committee member for the British Science Association and a Governor at a local primary school.

Picture of Dr Stuart Forbes CChem FRSC

Dr Stuart Forbes CChem FRSC


Stuart Forbes has recently established an analytical consultancy business (SF Analyticon Limited) following his retirement as Team Leader of the Separations, Spectroscopy and Thermal Analysis Group at Shell's Thornton Laboratory. He had previously worked at Shell's Sittingbourne and Amsterdam Laboratories. Stuart joined the NW Region Analytical Division Committee in 1996 having previously served on the Committee of the RSC Kent Section Trust. He has also served on the AD Council, the Analytical Chemistry Trust Fund, the AD Honours Committee, the RSC-Association of Public Analysts Joint Committee and been the AD Representative on the UKAS Chemical Technical Committee. Stuart was Chairman of the NW Region Analytical Division during 2000-2002 and is currently the Honorary Secretary and Webmaster. In 1999 he wrote a brief history of the NW Region entitled "A Lifetime of Analysis" to mark its 75th anniversary.

Picture of Dr Peter J Doyle CChem MRSC

Dr Peter J Doyle CChem MRSC


Peter Doyle is a Senior Scientist working in the Analytical Development Group of the Pharmaceutical and Analytical Research & Development Department at AstraZeneca, Macclesfield. He joined the committee in 2002. His current work involves the evaluation and implementation of new analytical technologies in Analytical Development.

Picture of Dr Sanja Potgieter-Vermaak

Dr Sanja Potgieter-Vermaak

Immediate Past Chair

Sanja Potgieter-Vermaak is a senior lecturer in Forensic Analytical Chemistry at the Manchester Metropolitan University and an honorary associate professor at the University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa. She joined the committee in 2010 and is a member of the organising committee of the Manchester heat of the young analyst competition. She served on the South African Chemical Institute Committee (SACI - Analytical Division) and the South African Academy for Science and Art (SAAWK – Chemistry Division) in the past. Sanja’s research spans a wide range of interconnected areas in analytical chemistry and materials characterisation. Of late her focus is on the analysis and characterisation of individual environmental particles by means of CCSEM/EDX and Raman spectroscopy to determine its effect on various types of materials and objects and the impact it would have on the quality of human life.

Picture of Dr Stephen Holman MRSC

Dr Stephen Holman MRSC

Assistant Secretary

Stephen Holman is a post-doctoral research associate at the University of Liverpool. His research focusses on the use of mass spectrometry for the quantitative analysis of proteins in biological samples. He was awarded his Ph.D in 2009 from the University of Southampton under the supervision of Dr. John Langley, and prior to this worked at HFL Ltd. (now HFL Sport Science) and the Forensic Science Service. Stephen was elected to the committee in 2010 and in 2013 assumed the role of Honorary Assistant Secretary.

Professor Peter Fielden CChem FRSC

Ordinary Member

Mr Adam McCudden CChem MRSC

Ordinary Member

Picture of Ms Megan McLean

Ms Megan McLean

Ordinary Member

Megan McLean joined the Department of Chemistry at Manchester Metropolitan University as a Senior Lecturer in Analytical Chemistry in 1992. Prior to that she had eleven years experience of the USA academic systems where interest in analytical chemistry as a unique discipline was fostered. Current interests range from developing links with industry and encouraging students to gain relevant work experience while studying for their degree to researching improved methods of teaching chemistry.

Miss Heather Robinson MRSC

Ordinary Member