L S Theobald Lectureship

Opening date for nominations is 01 October 2019, closing date is 15 January 2020

The 'L S Theobald Lecture' is awarded in memory of Leslie Stuart Theobald (1898-1979). He was on the academic staff of Imperial College, London from 1925 until his retirement in 1963, having been Reader in Analytical Chemistry from 1945.

The L S Theobald Lecture is funded through an anonymous donation to the Analytical Methods Trus by an admirer of Theobald.

The Lectureship is awarded to someone who has made significant contribution to analytical chemistry in an area of interest to the work of the Analytical Methods Committee (AMC, a committee of the RSC Analytical Division) and its sub-committees. It is not a requirement that the recipient should be a member of the RSC or have contributed directly to the work of the AMC or its sub-committees.

The Analytical Methods Trust (AMT) provides an honorarium of £500, together with a certificate and covers reasonable expenses incurred in presenting the award lecture.


Open to all academic and industrial scientists irrespective of nationality.

Nomination procedure for the L S Theobald Lectureship

Candidates are not permitted to nominate themselves. Trustees of the Analytical Methods Trust are not eligible for nomination. 

Nominations must include:

  • A one page CV for the nominee which should include their date of birth, summary of education and career, total numbers of publications and patents.
  • A one-page supporting statement identifying the nominee’s contribution to analytical chemistry and its relevance to the work of the Analytical Methods Committee/sub-committees  

Nominations should be submitted to the Secretary of the Analytical Methods Trust.

Selection committee

A sub-committee nominated by the AMT, chaired by the Chair of AMT, will make a recommendation to the AMT, whose decision will be final. No person associated with a nomination will be permitted to participate in the consideration or decision making process for the award of the Lectureship.

Previous Winners

Previous Winners

Winners from 1985 and their Theobald Lectures where available

Contact and Further Information

Ian Lumley
Secretary of the Analytical Methods Trust