Dextra Carbohydrate Chemistry Award

Administrative responsibility for this award lies with the RSC Carbohydrate Group. Decisions will be made by an independent award selection committee appointed by the RSC Carbohydrate Group Chair. The award selection committee will be drawn from past Chairs of the RSC Carbohydrate Group, past award recipients and other scientists of international standing in the field.   

Nominations for this award, which will be presented every second year, may be submitted to the Group Secretary. The deadline for nominations is usually in January of the award year. 

The Awardee will be expected to give a lecture at the Spring RSC Carbohydrate Group conference.

About the award

This award, which is sponsored by Dextra Laboratories, was founded in 1970. It is presented to a scientist in the early/mid stage of their career for meritorious work in carbohydrate chemistry that has largely been conducted in the UK.

The award lecture, which is generally delivered at the Group's autumn meeting, may deal with any area of carbohydrate chemistry including analytical, biological, organic, physical or technological aspects.

In order to make a nomination for this award you will need to supply:

  • Your name and contact details (you must be an RSC member in order to submit a
  • The candidate's name and contact details
  • A supporting statement of no longer than one A4 side of 11 pt text
  • A one page CV for the candidate, which should include their date of birth, website
    URL, summary of education and career, a list of five relevant publications and total
    numbers of publications and patents.  

Nominations should be sent to Professor Matthew I Gibson by 20th January 2019.

Carbohydrate Chemistry Award Winners

  • 2019 - T Gloster
  • 2017 - M C Galan 
  • 2015 - M I Gibson
  • 2013 – W B Turnbull
  • 2011 – D van Aalten and S M Haslam 
  • 2007 - 2010 - No award
  • 2006 - A Nikolaev  
  • 2004 - A J Fairbanks  
  • 2002 - G S Besra  
  • 2001 - B J Davis  
  • 2000 - J H Naismith  
  • 1998 - G J Davies  
  • 1996 - R A Field  
  • 1994 - D Crich  
  • 1992 - N J Turner  
  • 1991 - T C Gallagher  
  • 1990 - no award  
  • 1988 - M J Gidley  
  • 1986 - A Dell  
  • 1984 - E F Hounsell  
  • 1982 - R H Wightman  
  • 1980 - E R Morris  
  • 1978 - M L Sinnott  
  • 1976 - J F Stoddart  
  • 1974 - J F Kennedy  
  • 1972 - L D Hall  
  • 1970 - D A Rees     

Also of interest

Prizes and Awards in Organic Chemistry

Details of the RSC prizes and awards rewarding excellence in organic chemistry

Contact and Further Information

Dr Gavin Miller MChem CSci CChem MRSC