The Faraday Medal - Further Information

The Faraday Medal is currently awarded annually by the Electrochemistry Group of the RSC to an electrochemist working outside the UK and Ireland in recognition of their outstanding original contributions and innovation as a mid career researcher in any field of electrochemistry. The medal itself is made from sterling silver. It is 2 inches in diameter and the front face depicts a bust of Michael Faraday. On the obverse face there is a cyclic voltammogram with the winner's name engraved underneath.

The medal was first awarded in 1977 but in the early years it was not awarded every year. 

The winner of the Faraday medal will be invited to give a plenary lecture (at which they will be presented with their medal) at the annual Electrochem meeting, normally held in the UK or Ireland in September. All the winner’s travel, accommodation and registration fees for Electrochem are covered as part of the award.

Faraday Medalists

  • 2019 M Winter
  • 2018 Y Shao-Horn
  • 2017 M Koper
  • 2016 J Gooding
  • 2015 D Crooks
  • 2014 M Osawa
  • 2013 N Markovic
  • 2012 Z-Q Tian
  • 2011 H Abruña
  • 2009 R Penner
  • 2008 N Lewis
  • 2007 C Amatore
  • 2006 H H Girault
  • 2005 R M Wightman
  • 2004 D Scherson
  • 2003 D M Kolb
  • 2002 H White
  • 2001 M Grätzel
  • 2000 A M Bond
  • 1999 P Allongue
  • 1998 W Vielstich
  • 1996 A Heller
  • 1995 M Weaver
  • 1994 S Bruckenstein
  • 1991 D Rand
  • 1987 H Gerischer
  • 1985 M Armand
  • 1983 J M Savéant
  • 1981 J O'M Bockris
  • 1977 V G Levich   

Nominations and Submission

Nominations for the Faraday Medal normally open in October/November and in this round nominations will close at 17:00 GMT on 31 January 2020.

Suggestions for nominations are invited from all RSC members via the group Newsletter and other publicising channels. Nominations should be made to the RSC Electrochemistry Group committee Secretary.

Each nomination must include the following documents.

  • A CV for the nominated candidate of no more than two A4 pages (single-line spacing, Arial 11pt or equivalent), including the ten most significant research papers in the context of the nomination (plus a brief justification), and a list of previously won awards and medals, if applicable.
  • A statement of not more than one A4 page (single-line spacing, Arial 11pt or equivalent) describing the most significant contributions of the nominee and their originality and novelty, in comparison with the state of the field at the time.
  • Please note that self-nominations are not permitted. Please also note that the nominator must be a member of the RSC.   

The committee reserves the right to reject any submissions that do not adhere to the guidelines above.

Selection Process

The selection process is carried out by a group of RSC Electrochemistry Group committee members. This group consists of the Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and at least two other members of the RSC Electrochemistry Group committee.

The winner of the award is normally announced in late February.

Contact and Further Information

Dr Sarah Horswell MRSC
Secretary 2019 - 2022
University of Birmingham