Sheelagh Campbell Award

The RSC Electrochemistry Group and the Industrial Physical Chemistry Group are inviting applications and nominations for the Sheelagh Campbell Memorial Award. 

Applicants for this award must be studying towards a PhD in a UK or Irish university or research institute, in the broad area of electrochemical science and should not have submitted their PhD thesis by the application deadline. 

The winning student will present the research described in the paper at Electrochem 2019 to be held in Glasgow in August 2019. 

Conference registration, (standard) travel expenses and accommodation costs will be covered by the award. 


  • Applicants should submit for judging ONE research paper they have published based on their PhD research. Papers should either be published or in press at the time of submission of the application.
  • A covering letter should be provided highlighting the significance of the research and outlining the specific contribution of the applicant towards the paper. Contribution from co-authors should be clarified and acknowledged in the letter. A letter of support from the PhD supervisor should be submitted separately, confirming the contribution of the student to the paper.
  • The applications will be judged by a committee with representatives from the RSC Electrochemistry Group and the Industrial Physical Chemistry Group.
  • Applications should be emailed to the Chair of the Award Committee, Dr Yvonne Grunder by 31 March 2019.  

Sheelagh Campbell Award Winners

Haytham Hussein (University of Warwick)
Electrochemical Synthesis of Nanoporous Platinum Nanoparticles Using Laser Pulse Heating: Application to Methanol Oxidation

Kent Griffith (University of Cambridge)
Elucidating the Mechanism of High-Rate and High-capacity Lithium-ion Intercalation in Bulk Complex Oxides

Michelle Browne (Trinity College Dublin)
Low-Overpotential High-Activity Mixed Manganese and Ruthenium Oxide Electrocatalysts for Oxygen Evolution Reaction in Alkaline Media

Donal Finegan (Department of Chemical Engineering, University College London)
In-operando high-speed tomography of lithium-ion batteries during thermal runaway

Darryl Dawson Prize of the RSC Electrochemistry Group 
Yousillya Bunga, Department of Chemistry, University of Durham 
Poster title: Metal nanoparticles and their interaaction with artificial bacterial cell membranes immobilised on gold electrodes

Roger Mortimer Prize of the RSC Electrochemistry Group
Grace Lowe, School of Chemistry, University of Nottingham
Poster title: Investigating earth-abundant electrodes for a sustainable electrochemical Birch reduction

RSC Electrochemistry Group book prize
Zoe Ayres, Department of Chemistry, University of Warwick
Poster title: Controlled sp2 addition to boron-doped diamond: development of an oxygen insensitive amperometric pH sensor

Contact and Further Information

Dr Yvonne Grunder
Chair of the Award Committee
University of Liverpool