Awards and Bursaries

Cyril Keattch Award

The Cyril Keattch Award is presented biennially in memory of the Group’s first Secretary, who held the post from 1965 until his untimely death in 1999. The award is made to an outstanding early career scientist working in the field of thermal analysis or calorimetry to enable them to present a paper based on their work at an international conference. The award includes a certificate and a grant of up to £1000 towards the conference registration fee, travel and living expenses at the conference.

Cyril Keattch Award 2018

The 2018 Cyril Keattch Award will be associated with the 12th European Symposium on Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry (ESTAC 12) which will be held on 26 - 30 August 2018 in Brasov, Romania.

Mackenzie-Redfern Bursaries

In 2017, the Thermal Methods Group has established the Mackenzie-Redfern Bursaries in memory of Dr Robert Mackenzie and Dr John Redfern the Group’s founders. The purpose of the bursaries is to help early career scientists present a paper or poster at a Thermal Methods Group Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry Conference.

For 2018, the bursaries will be awarded to the three best entries for the 2018 Cyril Keattch Award and will consist of a prize of £150 and a certificate.


  • Candidates must be resident in the UK.
  • Those wishing to apply should have normally worked for up to ten years at the post-graduate level and any periods of leave, (such as, but not limited to, maternity leave) should be documented.

Candidates should supply:

  • A nomination letter from a senior colleague
  • A full curriculum vitae
  • A one page abstract of the paper that they intend to present at the conference

The submissions should be submitted in electronic format to the Thermal Methods Group Chair, Dr Glynn Van-de-Velde ‎by 31 January 2018.


The submissions will be reviewed by a sub-committee of the Thermal Methods Group committee.

The authors of the best three entries will be invited to give a 20 minute presentation (including questions) at the Thermal Analysis and Calorimetry 2018 Conference which will be held on the 27 - 28 March 2018 at Queens University, Belfast.

The winner of the Cyril Keattch competition will be announced at the Conference dinner.

Contact and Further Information

Mr Glynn Van-de-Velde CChem MRSC
Past Chair