Applied Catalysis Award

The Applied Catalysis Award rewards an individual for creativity and excellence in novel approaches or use of catalysis in industry.

2018 Winner

Professor Ying Zheng

2018 Applied Catalysis Award Winner

Professor Ying Zheng, The University of Edinburgh

General information

  • Runs biennially - NOT OPEN for 2019 nominations
  • The award winner will be chosen by an independent selection panel   

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October and close on 15 January
  • Both RSC members and non-members can nominate for this award 
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK and internationally
  • Individuals based in chemical sciences industry or academia can be nominated    

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system. If you are an RSC member please make sure you have the membership number to hand before accessing the online system.

During the application process you will be asked to provide:

  • A supporting statement of up to 4500 characters (not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria below. 
  • One page CV for the nominee, which should include a summary of education and career.

Selection of the winner will be based solely on the CV and supporting statement provided. These should provide sufficient information to assess the nominee's individual contributions to their research and commercial activities and give a clear description of the impact of the nominee's industrial activity.

When nominating previous RSC Prize or Award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work.

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator    

Selection Panel

  • Prof Roy Sandbach, North East Local Enterprise Partnership (Chair)
  • Dr Elaine Baxter, Procter&Gamble
  • Dr Bryan Hanley, The Knowledge Transfer Network
  • Dr Ian Bell, Afton Chemical
  • Dr Mike Wood, Davy Process
  • Dr Martin Hanton, Sasol
  • Dr Paul Murray, Catalysis Consulting  

Previous Winners

Applied Catalysis Award 2016 Winner

David Johnson, Lucite International

Applied Catalysis Award 2014 Winner

Professor Douglas Stephan, University of Toronto

Applied Catalysis Award 2012 Winner

Dr Thomas Colacot, Johnson Matthey

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066