2019 Applied Inorganic Chemistry Award Winner

Professor Claire J Carmalt

Professor Claire Carmalt

University College London


Awarded for outstanding contributions to the synthesis of inorganic CVD precursors for the development of superhydrophobic paint and non-slip flooring.


About the Winner

Claire Carmalt graduated from the University of Newcastle upon Tyne with a first-class honours degree in chemistry in 1992. She remained at Newcastle to do her PhD with Professor Nick Norman on 'Synthetic and structural studies involving the heavier elements of groups 13 and 15'. She then spent just over two years as a postdoctoral fellow at the Science and Technology Center, University of Texas at Austin under the supervision of Professors Alan Cowley FRS and Mike White. Her postdoctoral work, which involved the synthesis of novel precursors for thin film growth, stimulated her interest in materials chemistry. In 1997, she was awarded a Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Fellowship and she moved to University College London (UCL). She started a lectureship at UCL in 2001 and was promoted to senior lecturer in 2002, Reader in 2004 and Professor in 2009. She was Head of Inorganic & Materials Chemistry Section (2010-2016) and Vice Dean (Education) for the Mathematical & Physical Science faculty (2014-2016). In 2016 she became the first female Head of Department of Chemistry at UCL. She was awarded the RSC 2000 Meldola Medal and Prize for her work in materials chemistry. Her group's research currently involves development of materials and routes towards a number of industrial applications involving crystal growth, transparent conducting oxides and superhydrophobic paints.

Related Links

Link icon Claire Carmalt's Webpage
University College London

External links will open in a new browser window