Bader Award

The Bader Award is to recognise eminence in organic chemistry, which has not previously been rewarded by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

2019 Winner

Professor Jason Micklefield

2019 Bader Award Winner

Professor Jason Micklefield, The University of Manchester

General information

  • Run annually
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate 
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Organic Division Awards Committee         

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Nominations open on 01 October
  • Nominations close on 15 January
  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves 
  • This award is open to nominees based in the UK or Republic of Ireland only
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award 
  • Nominees must not have previously received an RSC prize or award    

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system  to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence 
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted 

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator    

Organic Division Awards Committee

  • Stuart Conway, University of Oxford (Chair)
  • Steve Marsden, University of Leeds
  • Sarah Skerratt, MSD
  • Alethea Tabor, University College London
  • Mariola Tortosa, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid
  • Andrew C Williams, Eli Lilly

Previous Winners

Bader Award Previous Winners

1989 - present

History of the Award

Dr Alfred Bader
A generous endowment from Dr Alfred Bader resulted in the establishment of the Bader in 1989. Dr. Bader founded the Aldrich Chemical Company, in Wisconsin, with Jack Eisendrath in 1951. As Aldrich rapidly expanded internationally in the 1950s and '60s, Bader merged with Sigma International, to form Sigma-Aldrich in 1975. During his time as Chairman of the company, from its inception in 1951 until 1991, Bader amassed an impressive library of rare chemicals, and the Sigma catalogue became the standard reference text for many chemists looking for physical and structural data.

Born into a Jewish family in Vienna in 1924, Bader was evacuated to Britain in the Kindertransport in 1938. Following this period he spent time at an internment camp in Canada before completing his education at Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario. Later, Bader studied for his PhD under Louis Fieser at Harvard. 

Throughout his life, he harboured a great interest in art, and has a large collection of 'Old Master' paintings. Since retiring from Sigma-Aldrich he has devoted his life to philanthropy, as well as his art collection, and has published his memoirs - "Adventures of a Chemist Collector" and "Chemistry and Art". He has been awarded eleven honorary degrees for his service to chemical research and philanthropy.

Submit your nomination

Related Links

Link icon Submit your nomination online
Deadline for nominations is 15 January 2020. Your nomination can be saved and completed at any time.

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066