2019 Chemical Dynamics Award Winner

Dr Matthew C. Beard

Dr Matthew Beard

National Renewable Energy Laboratory


Awarded for outstanding contributions to controlling ultra-fast carrier dynamics in nanostructures and perovskite semiconductors.


About the Winner

Matthew C. Beard graduated from Yale University with a Ph.D. in Chemistry in 2002 working with Prof. Charles Schumuttenmaer on the development of time-resolved THz spectroscopy. He won a post-doctoral fellowship at the National Institutes of Standards & Technology (NIST) developing THz spectroscopy. In 2003 he joined the research group of Arthur Nozik at the National Renewable Energy Laboratory studying ultrafast exciton dynamics in semiconductor nanocrystals for enhanced solar energy conversion. From 2012 to 2018, Dr. Beard served as the Associate director of the Center for Advanced Solar Photophysics (CASP), an Energy Frontier Research Center (EFRC) funded by the Basic Energy Sciences of the Department of Energy. CASP explored the use of quantum confined semiconductor for enhancing solar energy conversion. Currently, Dr. Beard is the Director for the Center for Hybrid Organic Inorganic Semiconductors for Energy (CHOISE), an EFRC that is exploring the photophysics of hybrid semiconductors inspired by the lead-halide perovskite semiconductor system. Dr. Beard's research interests include solar energy conversion processes in semiconductor nanocrystals, ultrafast processes, perovskite semiconductors, hot-carrier utilization, and time-resolved THz spectroscopy.

Related Links

Link icon Matthew Beard's webpage
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

External links will open in a new browser window