Harrison-Meldola Memorial Prize 2010 Winner

Andrew Goodwin
Andrew Goodwin
University of Oxford

Awarded for his pioneering work in materials with negative thermal expansion, and in the field of total scattering methods.

About the Winner

Andrew Goodwin obtained his BSc from the University of Sydney in 2002, majoring in Chemistry and Pure Mathematics. He moved to Cambridge as a graduate student later that year, but before doing so he undertook a research project at Sydney with Professor Cameron Kepert in the area of negative thermal expansion materials (for which he was awarded a PhD in 2004).

At Cambridge, he was a PhD student in the Mineral Physics group of the Department of Earth Sciences, working under the supervision of Professor Martin Dove on the problem of extracting dynamical information from neutron total scattering data.

In October 2004, Andrew was elected to a Junior Research Fellowship in Materials Science at Trinity College, Cambridge, and received his Cambridge PhD in 2006. In 2007 he intermitted his JRF to take up a Visiting Fellowship in Chemistry at the Australian National University, where he worked with Professor Ray Withers on the analysis of diffuse scattering patterns in electron diffraction patterns.

Andrew was awarded an EPSRC Career Acceleration Fellowship in 2008, and in 2009 was appointed to a Lectureship in Inorganic Chemistry at Oxford.

He is the Tutorial Fellow in Chemistry at St Anne's College, Oxford, and is in the process of establishing his "Local Structure and Dynamics" 
group at the Inorganic Chemistry Laboratory. Andrew's current research programme focusses on understanding and exploiting the role of disorder in functional materials, such as metal-organic frameworks, superconductors, amorphous solids and biominerals.

Related Links

Link icon The Goodwin Group
Goodwin Group Homepage

External links will open in a new browser window