Inorganic Mechanisms Award 2009 winner

Winner of the 2009 Inorganic Mechanisms Award Rudi van Eldik
Rudi van Eldik 
University of Erlangen, Germany

Awarded for his pioneering use of high pressure techniques for the study of inorganic mechanisms and for his studies of mechanisms of reaction of diatomic substrates with transition metal centres.

About the winner

Rudi van Eldik was born in 1945 in Amsterdam (The Netherlands) and grew up in Johannesburg (South Africa). He received his chemistry education and PhD at Potchefstroom University (South Africa), followed by post-doctoral work with Gordon M. Harris (SUNY at Buffalo, NY) and Hartwig Kelm (University of Frankfurt, Germany).

After completing his habilitation in physical chemistry at the University of Frankurt in 1982, he was appointed as Professor of Inorganic Chemistry at the Private University of Witten/Herdecke in 1987. In 1994 he accepted his present position as Professor of Inorganic and Analytical Chemistry at the University of Erlangen-Nürnberg.

His research interests cover the elucidation of inorganic and bioinorganic reaction mechanisms, with special emphasis on the application of high pressure thermodynamic and kinetic techniques. He is Editor of Advances in Inorganic Chemistry and author of ca. 750 research papers and reviews in international journals.

He has received honorary doctoral degrees from Potchefstroom University (South Africa) and Kragujevac University (Serbia). He has developed a promotion activity for chemistry and related experimental sciences in the form of chemistry edutainment over the past ten years.  In 2009 he was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit ('Bundesverdienstkreuz') by the Federal President of Germany.

Related Links

Link icon Van Eldik Research Group
Laboratory of Inorganic Chemistry at Friedrich-Alexander-Universitat Erlangen-Nurnberg, Germany

External links will open in a new browser window