John Jeyes Award

The John Jeyes Award is for chemistry in relation to the environment.

2018 Winner

Professor Martyn Chipperfield

2018 John Jeyes Award Winner

Professor Martyn Chipperfield, University of Leeds

General information

  • Run biennially - Closed
  • The winner receives 2000, a medal and a certificate
  • The winner will complete a UK lecture tour
  • The winner will be chosen by the Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division Awards Committee           

Guidelines for Nominators

  • Only RSC Members can nominate for this award
  • Nominees may NOT nominate themselves
  • The award is open to nominees based in the UK or internationally
  • There are no age restrictions associated with this award
  • When nominating previous RSC prize or award winners, please remember that a person cannot be awarded twice for substantially the same body of work    

To make a nomination please use our online awards nominations system to submit the following:

  • Your name, contact details, and membership number (please contact the RSC Membership team if you do not know your membership details)
  • The nominee's name and contact details 
  • An up to date CV for the nominee (no longer than one A4 side, 11pt text) which should include a summary of their education and career, a list of 5 relevant publications, total numbers of publications and patents (if appropriate) and website URL if relevant
  • A supporting statement (up to 4500 characters, not including spaces) addressing the selection criteria 
  • A short citation describing what the nominee should be awarded for. This must be no longer than 250 characters (not including spaces) and ideally no longer than one sentence
  • References are not required for this award and will not be accepted    

The RSC reserves the right to rescind any Prize or Award if there is reasonable grounds to do so. All nominators will be asked to confirm that, to the best of their knowledge, there is no confirmed or potential impediment to their nominee receiving this prize/award related to their professional standing. Our Professional Practice and Code of Conduct can be referred to as a guide on expected standards.

Downloadable Files

PDF files require Link icon Adobe Acrobat Reader

Selection Criteria for RSC Awards

Our selection committees base their evaluations primarily on the overall quality of relevant contributions made by nominees and not simply on quantitative measures.

The selection committee(s) will consider the following aspects of all nominations for scientific research Awards as appropriate:

  • Originality of research
  • Impact of research
  • Quality of publications and/or patents and/or software
  • Innovation
  • Professional standing
  • Collaborations and teamwork
  • Other indicators of esteem indicated by the nominee/nominator    

Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division Awards Committee

  • Mercedes Maroto-Valer, Heriot-Watt University (Chair)
  • Tim Bradley, Independent Consultant
  • Gary Fones, University of Portsmouth
  • Caroline Gauchotte-Lindsay, University of Glasgow
  • Julia Fahrenkamp-Uppenbrink, Science AAAS 
  • Martin Rose, Independent Consultant


Previous Winners

John Jeyes Award Previous Winners

1976 - present

History of the Award

John Jeyes
The John Jeyes Award, founded in 1975 through an endowment from the Jeyes Group, commemorates the initiative of inventor and scientist John Jeyes.

In 1877, John Jeyes filed a patent for his disinfectant liquid.  Over 130 years later, the Jeyes Group still uses his formula to produce the classic Jeyes fluid.  Jeyes was granted the Royal Warrant in 1896 and the Jeyes Group is still proud to supply the UK's Royal Household.

Dr John Woodman (President of the South Western branch of the British Medical Association) partially attributes the absence of deaths during treatment of Scarlet Fever patients from 1877-1887 to the use of "Warm baths with some Jeyes' fluid in. preventing the spread of the infection".1 

Previously called the John Jeyes lectureship, the first recipient of this award in 1976 was R. L. Wain for his contributions to chemistry in relation to the environment. The lectureship encouraged those working in more applied fields and the lecturer could, if appropriate, review a particular field and recommend new applications or actions resulting from research in that area.

1. Br Med J 2 (1439): 173-4. July 1888

Contact and Further Information

Royal Society of Chemistry, Thomas Graham House, Cambridge Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 420066