Liversidge Award 2014 Winner

Professor Michael Ashfold
Professor Michael Ashfold
University of Bristol

For contributions to advancing understanding of molecular photodissociation dynamics.

About the Winner

Mike Ashfold obtained his BSc and PhD degrees from the University of Birmingham prior to postdoctoral research (supported by a Guy Newton Junior Research Fellowship) at Oxford University and appointment as a Lecturer, Reader and, since 1992, Professor of Physical Chemistry at the University of Bristol.  He was a JILA Visiting Fellow at the University of Colorado in 1990 and has spent time as a Visiting Scientist at the Universities of Bielefeld, Amsterdam, Nagoya, Kyoto and Southern California, at Moscow State University and at Sandia (Livermore), NIST (Gaithersburg) and FORTH (Crete).  

Ashfold's research interests include molecular photochemistry and reaction dynamics, and several areas of gas-surface science, including diamond growth by chemical vapour deposition methods and the growth and characterisation of oxide nanostructures formed by pulsed laser deposition.  He has used translational spectroscopy methods to explore the fragmentation dynamics of many families of molecules following excitation with ultraviolet light, with a view to establishing a 'bigger' picture of factors that influence and determine molecular photochemistry.  

His recent activities seek to explore the extent to which knowledge gleaned from studying prototypical small molecules can inform our understanding of the photochemistry of larger, more complex systems - e.g. how photochemical outcomes can be 'tuned' by remote chemical substitution, and the extent to which understanding derived from gas phase studies can inform our understanding of solution-phase photochemistry.  

His research has been recognised by a number of awards including the Marlow, Corday-Morgan and Tilden Medals and Prizes of the Royal Society of Chemistry, an EPSRC Senior Research Fellowship (1997-2002), Royal Society Leverhulme Trust Senior Research Fellowships (in 1994 and 2011), and a Daiwa-Adrian Prize (2004).  He was elected to the Fellowship of the Royal Society in 2009.  

Related Links

Link icon Professor Ashfold's Webpage
University of Bristol

External links will open in a new browser window