Perkin Prize for Organic Chemistry 2015 Winner

Professor Amos Smith
Professor Amos Smith
University of Pennsylvania and the Monell Chemical Senses Center


Awarded for his continued outstanding contributions to new organic reaction development, complex natural product total synthesis, and new small molecules for medicinal chemistry




About the Winner

Born: August 26, 1944 in Lewisburg, PA. Education: B.S.-M.S, Bucknell University, 1966-1967; Medical School, University of Pennsylvania, 1967; Ph.D., Rockefeller University, 1972; Research Associate, Rockefeller University, 1972-1973; Assistant Professor, 1973-1978; Associate Professor of Chemistry, 1978-1981; Professor of Chemistry, 1981-1990; UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA; RHODES THOMPSON PROFESSOR OF CHEMISTRY, 1991-; Chair, Department of Chemistry, 1988-1996, Founding Editor-in-Chief, Organic Letters, 1999- . Member: American Academy of Arts and Sciences (Fellow, 2006); Kitasato Institute, Japan (Honorary, 2001); Pharmaceutical Society of Japan (Honorary, 1999); ESPCI International Scientific Council, Paris, France (2007-); American Chemical Society (Inaugural Fellow, 2009). Recipient: Camille and Henry Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award (1978); ACS Arthur C. Cope Scholar Award (1991); Alexander von Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientists (1992); ACS Ernest Guenther Award (1993); University of Oregon Creativity Award (1997); ACS Award for Creative Work in Synthetic Organic Chemistry (1997); RSC Centenary and Simonsen Medals (2002 and 2008); Yamada-Koga Prize, Japan (2003); Order of the Rising Sun, Gold Rays with Neck Ribbon, Japan (2004); D.Sc. (honoris causa), Queens University, Belfast, Northern Ireland (2009); Gassman Award (2014); and Nichols Medal (2014).

Related Links

Link icon Professor Smith's webpage
University of Pennsylvania

Link icon ORCID: 0000-0002-1712-8567
Find out more about Professor Smith's research activities

External links will open in a new browser window