Perkin Prize for Organic Chemistry 2013 Winner

Professor Varinder Aggarwal
Professor Varinder Aggarwal
University of Bristol

For his truly original contributions to the field of synthetic organic chemistry that have been sustained, broad-ranging and substantial, particularly with respect to his work in the field of asymmetric synthesis and catalysis.

About the Winner

Varinder K. Aggarwal received his B.A. (1983) and Ph.D. (1986) from Cambridge University, the latter under the guidance of Dr. Stuart Warren. He was subsequently awarded a Harkness Fellowship and carried out postdoctoral work with Professor Gilbert Stork at Columbia University, NY (1986-1988). He returned to a lectureship at Bath University and in 1991 moved to Sheffield University, where in 1997, he was promoted to Professor of Organic Chemistry. In 2000, he moved to the University of Bristol to take up the Chair of Synthetic Chemistry. 

His research interests lie in the field of organic chemistry, focusing especially on stereoselective synthesis, mechanistic studies and total synthesis of natural and non-natural products. His aims are to design and develop new synthetic methods, thereby enabling efficient and rapid synthesis of complex targets and biologically relevant compounds.

He is the recipient of the:

  • AstraZeneca award
  • Pfizer Awards
  • GlaxoWelcome award
  • Novartis lectureship
  • RSC Hickinbottom Fellowship
  • Nuffield Fellowship
  • RSC Corday Morgan Medal
  • the GDCh Liebigs Lectureship
  • RSC Green Chemistry Award
  • AstraZenecaDistinguished Lecturer award 
  • RSC Reaction Mechanism Award
  • Royal Society Wolfson Merit Award
  • RSC/GDCh-Alexander Todd-Hans Krebs Lectureship
  • RSC Tilden Lectureship
  • RSC Stereochemistry Award  

He was elected to the Royal Society in 2012.