Robert Robinson Award 2009 winner

2009 winner of the Robert Robinson Award Alan Katritzky
Alan Katritzky
University of Florida, USA

Awarded for his many outstanding contributions to the synthesis and reactivity of heterocycles.

About the winner

Born in London, Alan Katritzky studied at Oxford University, successively at St. Catherine's (originally commoner, now Honorary Fellow), Magdalen (Senior Demy), and Pembroke (Lecturer) Colleges and as ICI Fellow. In 1958 he transferred to Trinity Hall in Cambridge and was then a Founder Fellow of Churchill.

In 1963 he became the Founder Dean of the School of Chemical Sciences at the University of East Anglia in Norwich before migrating to the University of Florida (UF) in 1980 as Kenan Professor and Director of the Center for Heterocyclic Compounds.

At UF, he presently runs a research group of some 40 graduate students and post-doctoral fellows working on synthetic methods, QSPR, and other topics which has given him an h index of 77, derived from 1940 publications cited a total of 38,859 times. He is also published widely in the secondary literature.

In 2000, he founded the journal "Arkivoc", completely free to authors and readers on the internet as a humanitarian gesture designed to help chemists particularly in the developing countries. As of July 2009 Arkivoc has published 2614 manuscripts over 29,994 pages.

His distinctions include fourteen honorary doctorates from ten European and Asian countries, membership in five National Academies, and 17 medals or prizes from 12 countries.

Related Links

Link icon The Katritzky Group
University of Florida, USA

External links will open in a new browser window