Sustainable Energy Award 2017 Winner

Professor Javier Pérez-Ramírez
Professor Javier Pérez-Ramírez
ETH Zurich


Awarded for discovery of disruptive catalytic technologies for valorization of carbon dioxide and natural gas that can be applied at a practical scale and for the creation of stable single atom precious metal catalyst materials



About the Winner

Javier Pérez-Ramírez (Benidorm, 1974) studied Chemical Engineering at the University of Alicante, Spain and received his PhD degree at TUDelft, Netherlands for research on N2O activation with F. Kapteijn and J.A. Moulijn in 2002. Following a period in industry at Norsk Hydro and Yara International (2002-2005), he joined the Institute of Chemical Research of Catalonia as an ICREA Professor before moving to ETH Zurich as the Professor of Catalysis Engineering in 2010. 

His research focuses on the discovery, understanding and technical development of catalytic materials and process concepts, leading to improved technologies for the sustainable manufacture of chemicals and fuels. Specific emphasis is placed on tackling current and future energy, resource, and environmental challenges of society. His team strives for the establishment of structure-function relationships of chemical processes at different length and time scales, combining scalable catalyst synthesis with advanced characterization and evaluation under relevant conditions and continuous operation. The main topics of interest include the selective conversion of renewables, carbon dioxide, and natural gas into valuable products using tailored nanostructured materials. These encompass supported single atoms, hybrid nanoparticles, hierarchically structured materials, and reducible oxides with controlled vacancy chemistry.

He is a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) and his contributions have been recognized by several awards, most recently the Otto-Roelen-Medal (2012), the EFCATS Young Researcher Award (2013), and the Beilby Medal and Prize (2014). He serves as Associate Editor of Catalysis Science and Technology, the RSC's flagship catalysis journal, and as Chair of SwissCat, the Catalysis section of the Swiss Chemical Society.

Related Links

External links will open in a new browser window