Chemists named as Fellows of the Royal Society

03 May 2013

The Royal Society, the national academy of science for the UK and Commonwealth, has released the names of its new fellows for 2013.

Alongside His Royal Highness The Duke of York and renowned author Bill Bryson, there are a number of distinguished chemists who have been elected by their peers to join the most eminent scientists, engineers and technologists from the UK. 

Dr Robert Parker, Chief Executive of the RSC, said: "I am delighted to see that the Royal Society has chosen to recognise my fellow chemists for their contribution to science in the UK and Commonwealth. 

"It is a fitting tribute to their dedication throughout their distinguished careers and acknowledges their achievements in the chemical sciences and the global importance of their work."

Among those elected as Fellows of the Royal Society  are:

  • Harry Anderson, Professor of Chemistry, University of Oxford, FRSC
  • Guy Lloyd Jones, Professor of Chemistry, University of Bristol, FRSC
  • Paul O'Brien, Professor of Inorganic Materials in the Schools of Chemistry and of Materials, University of Manchester, FRSC
  • Chris Schofield, Head of Organic Chemistry, University of Oxford, FRSC
  • Douglas Stephan, Professor of Chemistry, University of Toronto, FRSC  

Also elected as a Foreign Member of the Royal Society  is Professor Kyriacos C Nicolaou, Distinguished Professor of Chemistry, the University of California, San Diego.

This year's new fellows were elected following a vote amongst the existing fellows of the Royal Society, from over 700 nominees.

Click the link below for profiles of all 44 new fellows of the Royal Society.

Related Links

Link icon Royal Society
Fellowship of the world's most eminent scientists

External links will open in a new browser window

Contact for Media Enquiries

Edwin Silvester
Media Relations Executive
Thomas Graham House, Science Park, Milton Road, Cambridge, CB4 0WF
Tel: +44 (0)1223 432294
Fax: +44 (0)1223 426594