Joseph Chatt Award Winner 2010

Fraser Armstrong
Fraser Armstrong
University of Oxford

For his development of protein film electrochemistry and the invention of technologies that utilise metalloenzymes as components of catalysts to harness sunlight to convert water to hydrogen and to capture carbon dioxide


About the Winner

Fraser Armstrong is a Professor of Chemistry at Oxford University and a Fellow of St John's College.  He obtained his PhD at the University of Leeds with Geoff Sykes then carried out postdoctoral research with Peter Kroneck (Konstanz), Ralph Wilkins (New Mexico), Helmut Beinert (Madison) and Allen Hill (Oxford).

In 1983 he was awarded a Royal Society University Research Fellowship which he held in Oxford until 1989 when he joined the Chemistry Faculty at the University of California, Irvine.  He moved to his present position in 1993.

His interests are in biological redox chemistry and its application and inspiration for future energy technologies. He has developed new applications of dynamic electrochemical techniques for studies of complex electron transfer and catalytic reactions in proteins, and most recently he has focused on the mechanisms and exploitation of biological hydrogen and oxygen cycling.  These efforts are directed to applications in niche fuel cells and hydrogen production.  

He was awarded the 1998 European Medal for Biological Inorganic Chemistry, the 2000 Royal Society of Chemistry award for Inorganic Biochemistry, the 2003 Carbon Trust Academic Innovation Award, the 2004 Max-Planck 'Frontiers in Biological Chemistry' Award and the 2006 Royal Society of Chemistry Medal for Interdisciplinary Chemistry.  In 2008 he was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society (FRS).